Working Dog Forums banner
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
124 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Assume I have ZERO knowledge or experience with tracking (which happens to be the case). If you were going to train a PPD for something like tracking, or an area search, what style of training would you use?

Take into account that the dog isn't very motivated by food or prey items. If he's gonna search, it's gonna have to be for the decoy.

Also, before anyone asks why I need a PPD that tracks, I'll be the first to admit that it's for learning's sake rather than a need.

Thanks,
Simon

·
Premium Member
10,196 Posts
I'd teach the two seperate. I like to start with air scent although there are others that train the opposite way. The problem is finding the reinforcement that will drive the behavior. If he's not prey driven, what's the motivation for tracking for the decoy. Some dogs will work soley for physical and verbal praise, although, in my experience, that is rare. Food deprivation can be a motivational tool. However, in PPD work, I wouldn't be training a dog that had no prey drive. In your instance, if a ball, toy etc won't motivate your dog, food might be your best option. A food deprivation schedule could be set up.

DFrost

·
Banned
5,567 Posts
This may be a bone of contention but maybe someone can enlighten me to the point I understand the reasoning. As a hunter, if a dog doesn't have the drive naturally, I won't waste the time because at best, the end result will be a mediocre dog. In the same vein, some dogs have a preference, and drive for cats, big or small.....but they do have the drive. If I want to bear hunt, the dog obviously will never make a great bear dog so he is traded of to a cat hunter. What is the purpose of trying to make a thoroughbred out of a clydesdale when mediocrity is going to be the end result? This is something I have tried to figure out for a long time and the answer still alludes me. Why?

·
Premium Member
21,869 Posts