Working Dog Forums banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 58 Posts

·
Registered
1,255 Posts
I would like to learn about Alaskan Malamute and Saint Bernard and every other working breed. I have no experience at all working with either of the breeds mentioned and know very little about them.

·
Banned
11,727 Posts
Quote: Specifically Alaskan Malamute and Saint Bernard.

You mean pulling a sled is considered "work"????? I don't get it. Are you looking for how to teach one of these breeds how to do it?

·
Registered
4,168 Posts
oh lord, i can see it coming: let's define "work" vs "excercise" before we even go further ok?

can we agree to use either Webster or physics (but then we have to define "energy", "force", and what else, woody? )? but we'll probably have to use a combination of the dictionary and basic physics.....

i have a headache already ](*,) ](*,)

·
Registered
2,973 Posts
A working dog is any dog optimized, through breeding and training, to do work too dirty, to dangerous, or too difficult for humans to do themselves.

Sledding counts.

·
Banned
101 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
well, I do live in Alaska so I require a dog which can pull in the snow. Actually doing special trained situations like cleaning my floor will be later on. ;)

You don't consider pulling work? So, all the farmers which used horse and oxen to plow their fields were exrcise? eh?