Working Dog Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
5,548 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Getting reliable training in the last three months has been terrible. In between club politics and the weather (there has been ice on our training field for the last 3 weeks, so no practice), so I've been to Bob's club twice. Anyways, it seems Zoso is not biting as hard as he probably could. I wondered about this and noticed that after most sessions, even with a soft tug, there might be a little drop of blood or three on the tug. He gets ester C supplements 1-2 times a week, fish oil and vitamin E supplements every day, and he's on the raw diet (mostly chicken quarters, pork necks, sardines, raw eggs, etc). I only started playing tug with him at 16 months and he is 24 months now. Any ideas on why he might have a soft mouth? Is this something that will improve at all? Should I have him checked out for dental issues?

·
Premium Member
20,210 Posts
Connie Sutherland said:
Maren Bell Jones said:
... Should I have him checked out for dental issues?
Yes, because of the blood. JMO.
He might have a splinter of something between a tooth and the gum, too..... not necessarily dental, but gum-related.

Can you run your own finger around the gum line (gently) feeling for anything that shouldn't be there?

I've found while using the finger-brush that if you let the mouth stay mainly closed as you do this, the dog tolerates it much better. The inside of the teeth is more of a visual thing and might be harder.

But it can't hurt to do a prelim yourself (if possible), since the dog will probably allow you much more relaxed access. :wink:

·
Premium Member
21,867 Posts
I'd definately have him checked out. It could be as simple as something caught in the gums (splinter, piece of jute, etc, or it could be a bad tooth.

·
Premium Member
3,443 Posts