Working Dog Forums banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Banned
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Any working rotties out there? I am finding it difficult to locate people with working rotties...they all seem to be mals and shepherds. :)

So anyone with a rotti...speak up! Let's talk shop!

·
Banned
11,728 Posts

·
Registered
2,973 Posts
Luna Wolf said:
Any working rotties out there? I am finding it difficult to locate people with working rotties...they all seem to be mals and shepherds. :)

So anyone with a rotti...speak up! Let's talk shop!
Luna, what state are you in? PM me if you are not comfortable sharing that (you're out of luck if you're not comfortable with me knowing that :lol:). I'm harmless, ask Jeff.

·
Banned
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I'm in Canada. (You know, the 51st state.) :lol:

I came upon my rotti by accident...actually, he came to me by miracle.

I went to a client's home to help them with their rotti puppy (I'm a trainer) and after receiving some information on the breed and temperament testing their pup, they called me in a couple days and realized that they couldn't handle him and asked if I could help him find a new home.

I'm a sucker - I love dogs with attitude, drive and a little craziness - I love the challenge! So, I offered to take him and here he is a year later.

After some research, turns out he comes from a bad breeder and is not registerable, plus I had his hips x-rays a few months ago and he has early signs of flattening of the ball joint in his hips and possible dysplasia. Sucks! But...he's a great dog, highly intelligent and highly motivated to work.

I was going to train him as a "pseudo police dog" and use him to demo my training to clients, but now I have to take it easy on him due to his hips and I will train him as a protection dog (but no jumping through windows etc) and tracking and/or searching. He is also showing potential as a drug dog, so we'll see.