Working Dog Forums banner
1 - 20 of 61 Posts

·
Premium Member
21,869 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Time to stir the pot a bit again.
I didn't want to hijack another post so I'm starting this one.
I see comments about purely positive training is successful with only soft or weak nerved dogs.
How were these conclusions arrived at?
Have you made an honest effort to use these methods or are you not using them because, in your head, you seriously believe you have to use a heavy hand with a serious dog.
Respect is all about leadership, not physical power.
I've been doing purely positive for about 4 yrs now and I've got to say it was really hard for an old fart like me to make the change but I truly do believe in it.
I've done quite a bit of retraining with my seriously nasty, hard, crazy %$#^&*( JRT to realize that it does work.
My own GSD is, admittedly, handler soft and very much in tune with me as his pack leader but he is rock solid in the nerve dept.
I've seen hard a$$ SchH III dogs do complete turn arounds when the compulsion was stopped.
I've explained my position on this before but I'd love to hear reasons WHY you don't believe it works. Not just that it doesn't.
If the dog is clear headed about what you want from it, it WILL work!

·
Banned
329 Posts
Bob, I have found with Bella, that I thought I could start out with compulsion, but it just got her more aggressive, biting, getting that look in her eyes like she was getting confrontational to me. So I have begun some positive training and am getting fast responses from her. They are sometimes too fast as I said in another thread, so I think a mix of both could be the ticket with her. Just what I am thinking now. Does not mean I'm right.

·
Registered
538 Posts