Working Dog Forums banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My apologies in advance for the mini-novel. I'm hoping someone will tell me I'm overreacting here, worrying is one of my hobbies ;) , BUT...

I've been transitioning both of my dogs to a raw diet for the past two months. I've taken the transition sloooowly, as one of the dogs is a recent rescue with a largely unknown medical history. The rescue was arranged through a vet's office (not my usual vet) and he was given a fairly clean bill of health. Allergies, yeast overgrowth, general neglect issues, but nothing major.

Anyway, I started with THK Force, gradually added ground Nature's Variety patties, then gradually switched to "real raw" 2 1/2 weeks ago. The only supplements I use are probiotics, salmon oil and vit. E. Both dogs have tolerated the change well. Poops have been solid and regular, good color, although I have noticed "ground up" looking bone in them.

At 7:30 last night, they both had chicken necks for the first time (with nothing else mixed in). Around 6:00 this morning, the little one woke me up vomiting. When I took her out, I saw the Dane had also vomited twice (good sized puddles). Both dogs vomited yellow bile and bone chunks with very little meat. Both dogs seem fine today, no bloating or pain when I palpitate their stomachs. Both are REALLY unhappy that I'm fasting them. In fact, if it had been just one dog vomiting, I wouldn't be too concerned. It's just that both of them had problems...