Working Dog Forums banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a new protection male gsd i purchased and want to do some protection and bitework training with him. I am new to this and was wondering where should I start. I need to know about decoys and helpers as well. I was thinking about getting a Leerburg dvd what do u think? My GSD is 2 and we have had him about a month.

·
Premium Member
4,983 Posts
Finding a good skilled reputable trainer is invaluable. You can get the DVD's from Leerburg but you'll reach a point where it'll be in your best interest to work with a good training decoy, so you might as well find that training decoy now and you will be off to a good start.

·
Registered
2,452 Posts
What Mike said. What part of FL are you in again? Maybe some of the members can recommend a trainer if they live near you. Make sure to tell the new trainer how much training your dog has already, so they'll have an idea of where to begin with him. You ought to post pics of him for the board. He's a pretty dog! :D

·
Registered
252 Posts
Neil Rodin said:
I have a new protection male gsd i purchased and want to do some protection and bitework training with him. I am new to this and was wondering where should I start. I need to know about decoys and helpers as well. I was thinking about getting a Leerburg dvd what do u think? My GSD is 2 and we have had him about a month.
IMHO here is what I would do.