Working Dog Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
Golden Lab
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Greetings everyone! I'm Kimberlee Johnson and I'm new to the community. I am a SAR member of a K-9 organization in AL. Been working search dogs for only 3 years so I'm by no means an expert! I'd love to have some of your advice for an issue re scent specific training. My dog, Lucy, is a 8 yr old Golden Lab and we have been working regular air scent searches until about 3 months ago. We have certified NASAR Sartec II and AWDA for regular air scent. About 3 mos ago, a friend of mine who works trailing told me I should try Lucy on a scent specific exercise. I did, and discovered that she became much more excited & motivated by having a scent article and working scent specific problems! So, for the past 3 mos, we have been training scent specific. We began with scent identification exercises and graduated to short searches w 2 subjects hidden, then longer searches w 2 subjects hidden. Up until about a month ago, she was doing great, going to the correct subject and alerting, while ignoring the incorrect subject. Lately, we have had trouble locating the proper subject and she has even alerted on the incorrect subject in the last 2 exercises we've done. (We train 3 times/week.) Our AWADA re-certification is coming up in 6 days, and I had thought to certify scent specific, but decided to just re-cert regular air scent since obviously we need more work on the scent specific. So I tried a regular air scent problem w her yesterday, and it was a disaster. She seemed to wander around, not sure what to do and I ended up almost having to lead her to the subject. I know I'm really making mistakes with her, but, at this point, I'm not sure what to do. We don't have an expert on air scent specific training on our team. I'd appreciate any and all advice!

·
Registered
203 Posts
Hello,