Working Dog Forums banner
1 - 20 of 80 Posts

·
Registered
4,168 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
ok, as a complete newbie, and having heard this phrase fairly frequently, here's a couple questions.

what exactly does that mean? it seems undesirable (from context), so how to prevent it?

·
Premium Member
10,196 Posts
You'll find it means different things to different people. Prey is necessary, it's the hunt and chase. In the old days we called it prey/kill. meaning the hunt/chase, capture and holding on. That doesn't seem to fit today's new definitions. Basically now, they look for the prey drive for the chase, then fight when contact is made. Some describe different fight drives as to how the dog manages to continue the attack. the results in the sport world differ somewhat from the police world. Of course if you are in my antiquated program, it's still prey/kill. The chase, the hit, the fight until commanded to do something different.

I'm sure someone else will give some other descriptions.

DFrost

·
Registered
38 Posts
My young dog (13 months) is also a dog that easily becomes locked in prey. He wants his prey so badly that he is only focussed on the prey (the sleeve). No matter what the decoy did, he only looked at his prey. In the first place we couldnt even get him in defense drive, even though the threat from the helper was very high. (already for an adult dog, this dog was not even 12 months old!)
Now we finally got him defensive last week. The sleeve was on the ground and the helper could get my dog foccused on him. Finally away from the sleeve!
Even though prey bites and attacks are very pretty to look at (full bites, hard attacks) we also want our dogs to work in defense sometimes. That ofcourse is a decision you make, you can also keep working in his prey-drive if the dog doesnt cares about the threats anyway. :wink:

·
Premium Member
21,869 Posts