Working Dog Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
580 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I should give background first.... it might be long, though...

my male, who was my first working dog, has been a thorn in my side with OB issues for awhile now. When I bought him, I wanted to work him - but didn't count on not having a club to work WITH. (The local schH club wasn't accepting new members at that time.) So I started training OB with a local PP trainer when he was six months old. There was NO positive reinforcement at all, just prong collar, old school 'yank n crank'. The dog wasn't drivey or happy while doing it and was stubborn as all get out. When he was about seven or eight months, we moved to the advanced OB class with - you guessed it - a electric collar. :cry:

While this was going on, we were also working bitework, and he did awesome. Solid grips, good nerves, just super. We got to a point where the PP trainer told me he didn't know enough to take the dog any further, so... I started driving two hours to Atlanta every week to train schutzhund.

First time the dog came out of the crate, the TD worked him. He was about 13 months old. he did very well in the protection portion, but his OB was awful. I started working him with food and just working on focus. We did nothing but this for a few months. Meanwhile, his bitework was beautiful, and the dog was nailing all the courage tests beautifully and taking any drive well. He still never had a real 'spark' with OB and refused to hold a downstay, or even down half of the time. Of course, he'd do it with an e-collar on, but the point was not to put it on him. The food and marker training worked ok.