Working Dog Forums banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Premium Member
10,196 Posts
With our working dogs, I don't like using a "bark" collar. They correct all barking. I prefer, if I'm going to use electronics, to use a remote. That way I can correct the dog for failing to "shut up" or whatever command is used for quiet. It removes the indiscriminate corrections for all barking.

DFrost

·
Registered
269 Posts
I agree with David, because with my dog sometimes on the field she won't bark to get the bite, and I think if we put a bark collar on her at home, it would make her second guess barking all the time... am I going on the right direction here or way off? Thats just my little opinion on things, but I am still a newbie and could be wrong! :)

·
Registered
1,256 Posts
Jay is Hank your hound?

I have used bark collars on the odd incorrigible barker in the huskies and could get away with the cheap-ish bark collars but when I ended up with a very large stray coonhound for a few days the cheapo collars didn't even register on him. He would be just would stand there wagging his tail, happily bellowing loud enough to wake the dead while getting while getting zaps that would have made the huskies yip and go in their houses. If I had a real barker I think I would invest in a better bark collar that you could adjust somewhat. I generally have more of a problem with group howling than barking and have used bark collars on some dogs that feel the need to get everybody going in howl-fests at night.

·
Banned
5,567 Posts