Herding + PP training - Working Dog Forum
Welcome to the Working Dog Forum.
Header

Working Dog Forum » Work Specific Discussion » Personal Protection Dogs » Herding + PP training

Personal Protection Dogs Questions and discussion specifically relating to dogs trained for \"Real World\" personal protection.

tcat left
Herding + PP training
vBmenu Seperating Image LinkBack Thread Tools vBmenu Seperating Image Display Modes vBmenu Seperating Image
Old 06-06-2016, 11:09 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ankle Biter

Training: Undecided
Herding + PP training

I have a young GSD male. I rescued him so I have very little info about his background and breeding (no AKC papers, no that I really care about that sort of thing).

Despite all the uncertainty, he seems to have a very traditional GSD temperament: very aloof and confident in public and on walks; very alert and on guard around the house (he will challenge a total stranger coming onto the property); somewhat decent prey drive (he chased wildlife before I trained a good recall and loves chasing any toys that I throw); and always eager to work or do something with me.

I am in the early stages of starting up formal IPO training (tracking, protection work). I was wondering if it would be okay or counter-productive to also start him on herding-type training.

As I understand it, the herding-type dogs work and behave the way they do because of their prey drive...the big caveat of course is that the herder teaches them to hold off on hurting/killing the livestock for obvious reasons.

Would this type of training interfere with his protection and bite work? Or will the two activities reinforce and build upon one another?
Fred Patronus is offline   Reply With Quote

Please Register!
Please visit our Sponsor

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-06-2016, 12:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
Broke the Bark Collar

Training: Police K9
Re: Herding + PP training

Hi Fred. Please post an intro per the forum rules.